They’re All Different Names, For the Same Things

I’m trying to achieve fluency in Spanish, a language I’ve taken in school since I was 14. When I was sixteen, I tried my hand at writing poems in Spanish. I’ve had luck with two, and of course, I can’t find them. But I know what they’re about! Two of my favorite Spanish words: la primavera y la pachuca.

“Primavera” is Spanish for “spring.” Pretty basic if you took elementary Spanish. But pachuca might be a little harder for those without a Spanish background. I had to dig up its meaning years ago.

I found it in the title of a song, Pachuca Sunrise, a favorite of mine back in high school, by the band Minus the Bear.

Pachuca isn’t even mentioned in the song. That’s the way most MTB songs are. They actually have pretty clever titles for their songs, like “I’m Totally Not Down with Rob’s Alien.” Pachuca means “bad girl,” but the song is about missing someone.

Midnight on a beach in the Mediterranean…And I miss you…

These words, including pachuca, have spoken to me through years of break-ups and heartaches. And recently, other Spanish words have defined the loss of my recent whatever-you-want-to-call-it.

Spanish words that I thought would never describe what we had, but when I look back on it, it’s all that it was:

la infidelidad

dejar a alguien

discutir

llevarse fatal

falso

insegura

mentiroso

tempestuosa

pasajero

They’re all different names, for the same things.

About T.Krajewski

I used to write a poem a night when I was sixteen. I don't want to be that girl again, but I also miss writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

