This Side of Paradise…

I used to write everyday. Either a poem, or a lengthy entry in my journal. Then, something happened that I just stopped. I don’t know if I became busy, or discouraged, or whatever. I just ceased to write; my writer’s block has been almost a year in the making.

I treasured my writing, and I kept it close to my heart. I shared what was in my various notebooks with only those I felt would get it. A few months ago, I made the mistake of sharing one of my older poems with someone I thought really cared about me. Unfortunately, doing so was the catalyst to the long and slow demise of our friendship. He told me, “It was just too much too soon.” It wasn’t a poem about him; it was one of my older pieces. I just wanted him to see what I loved to do. I wanted to share a piece of myself.

I think that may have been a problem, as I glance back at it with retrospect. I put my poetry and my writing up on a pedestal, along with the people I chose to share it with. I was only setting myself up for heartbreak. So maybe it’s time to start sharing with more people and being more open. Maybe the rejection and criticism will hurt less. I don’t know.

So with this blog, I want to share my writing process. My journey to be a writer again. It may take awhile for me to actually produce something worthwhile, but I’ll share what’s inspiring me at the moment. It’s usually music or books or other poems.

Like right now, I’m thinking about the title of this entry, the title of this blog, and my background image. Can you name what connects them all?

Last summer, I did a personal tour of F.Scott Fitzgerald’s novels. My particular favorite was This Side of Paradise, and my journal from last summer is filled with quotes from the novel. Thus, the title of this blog. And the background image is none other than crazy Zelda Fitzgerald, a muse and a nuisance to her husband. I also read her novel Save Me the Waltz. I reccommend it along with anything else written by The Lost Generation.

I suppose that is all I have to say for now. I hope you’ll check back to watch my process to become a writer again.

About T.Krajewski

I used to write a poem a night when I was sixteen. I don't want to be that girl again, but I also miss writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Side of Paradise…

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. kerrybaz says:

    I’m excited to follow along on your journey!

Leave a Reply

